Twenty Candidates Announced for 2017 Bob Cousy Award

The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced today the 20 watch list finalists for the 2017 Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year Award presented by College of the Holy Cross. Named after Hall of Famer and former Boston Celtic and Holy Cross guard Bob Cousy ’50, the annual honor now in its 14th year recognizes the top point guards in Division I men’s college basketball. A national committee comprised of top college basketball personnel determined the watch list of 20 candidates.

“As we begin into the 2016-17 basketball season, we’re all excited to see how these outstanding point guards will lead their teams,” said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame. “They exhibit many of the characteristics that made Bob Cousy a tremendous player and floor general at Holy Cross and we are pleased to be recognizing them. We thank College of Holy Cross for their continued support of this esteemed award.”

Bob Cousy played for Holy Cross from 1946-1950, winning an NCAA Championship in 1947. He was named a Consensus First-Team All-American in 1950. His success continued at the professional level as a six-time NBA Champion (1957, 1959-1963), NBA Most Valuable Player (1957) and 13-time NBA All-Star (1951-63). In 1996, he was named a member of the NBA’s 50th Anniversary All-Time Team.

By mid-February, the watch list of 20 players for the 2017 Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year Award will be narrowed to just 10. In March, five finalists will be presented to Mr. Cousy and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee. The winner of the 2017 Bob Cousy Award will be presented at the ESPN College Basketball Awards Show in Los Angeles, CA on Friday, April 7, 2017. Broadcast information will be released at a later date.

Previous winners of the Bob Cousy Award include Tyler Ulis, Kentucky (2016), Delon Wright, Utah (2015), Shabazz Napier, Connecticut (2014), Trey Burke, Michigan (2013), Kendall Marshall, North Carolina (2012), Kemba Walker, Connecticut (2011), Greivis Vasquez, Maryland (2010), Ty Lawson, North Carolina (2009), DJ Augustin, Texas (2008), Acie Law, Texas A & M (2007), Dee Brown, Illinois (2006), Raymond Felton, North Carolina (2005) and Jameer Nelson, St. Joseph’s (2004).

This is the third year the College is sponsoring the award.

For more information on the 2017 Bob Cousy Award presented by College of the Holy Cross, log onto

2017 Bob Cousy Award presented by College of the Holy Cross Candidates

Jalen Adams, Connecticut Maurice Watson Jr., Creighton Jack Gibbs, Davidson Frank Jackson, Duke Nigel Williams-Goss, Gonzaga Monte Morris, Iowa St. Frank Mason, Kansas De'Aaron Fox, Kentucky Melo Trimble, Maryland Joel Berry II, North Carolina Dennis Smith, North Carolina State Jawun Evans, Oklahoma State Lonzo Ball, University of California, Los Angeles Jordan McLaughlin, University of Southern California Jalen Brunson, Villanova London Perrantes, Virginia Seth Allen, Virginia Tech Markelle Fultz, Washington Brunson Koenig, Wisconsin Edmund Sumner, Xavier