Religious Studies Professor Explains ‘Why the Catholic Church Bans Gluten-Free Communion Wafers’

The Conversation | Real Clear Religion | Associated Press

religious studies at the College of the Holy Cross, writes a piece for The Conversation on the history of communion wafers and how they have changed over time.

“According to Catholic canon law, only fresh unleavened bread made from pure wheat with no additional ingredients may be used for the celebration of Mass. Gluten is part of what makes wheat actually wheat,” she writes.

The piece was picked up by Real Clear Religion and the Associated Press and ran in outlets including The Houston Chronicle, The San Francisco Chronicle and Crux.

Read the full article and more of Pierce's pieces on The Conversation website.