Holy Cross Partners with Basketball Hall of Fame to Sponsor Bob Cousy Award

Honor for best college point guard to be announced during ESPN live broadcast from Los Angeles April 10

The College of the Holy Cross has partnered with the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame to sponsor the Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year Award. Named for Hall of Famer and former Boston Celtic and Holy Cross guard Bob Cousy ’50, the annual honor now in its 12th year recognizes the top point guards in men’s college basketball. The winner of the 2015 Bob Cousy Award will be presented at ESPN’s new College Basketball Awards show at Club Nokia in Los Angeles on Friday, April 10, 2015. The awards show will be televised live on ESPN2 at 8 p.m. EST.

“We are proud to honor one of Holy Cross’ best-known and beloved student-athletes and at the same time honor outstanding student-athletes around the country,” said Rev. Philip L. Boroughs, S.J., president of Holy Cross. “Mr. Cousy has been a leader on and off the basketball court—held in high esteem for a career also marked by integrity and an unwavering commitment to social justice and civil rights. Our sponsorship of this award celebrates the excellence and athletic achievement that he personifies.”

Commenting on the Holy Cross sponsorship of the collegiate distinction, Cousy said, “I believe the award has been very meaningful to the talented young men who have received it over the years, and I am thrilled to know that my connection to Holy Cross will be so strongly represented in this way.”

Bob Cousy had an All-America career (1946-1950) at Holy Cross, leading the Crusaders to three NCAA tournaments and the 1947 title. He was named a Consensus First-Team All-American in 1950. His success continued at the professional level as a six-time NBA Champion (1957, 1959-1963), NBA Most Valuable Player (1957) and 13-time NBA All-Star (1951-63). In 1996, he was named a member of the NBA’s 50th Anniversary All-Time Team.

In 2008, Holy Cross honored Cousy with the unveiling of a life-size bronze statue in front of the Hart Recreation Center on campus.

The original watch list of 35 candidates will soon be narrowed down to five players for the 2015 Bob Cousy Award presented by College of the Holy Cross. The final five players in contention for the award will then be presented to the Hall of Fame’s selection committee comprised of top college basketball personnel.

Previous winners of the Bob Cousy Award include Shabazz Napier, Connecticut (2014), Trey Burke, Michigan (2013), Kendall Marshall, North Carolina (2012), Kemba Walker, Connecticut (2011), Greivis Vasquez, Maryland (2010), Ty Lawson, North Carolina (2009), DJ Augustin, Texas (2008), Acie Law, Texas A & M (2007), Dee Brown, Illinois (2006), Raymond Felton, North Carolina (2005) and Jameer Nelson, St. Joseph’s (2004).

For more information on the 2015 Bob Cousy Award presented by College of the Holy Cross, visit www.CousyAward.com.

About the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame: Located in Springfield, Massachusetts, the city where basketball was invented, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame promotes and preserves the game of basketball at every level – professional, collegiate and high school, for both men and women on the global stage. Visit us on the web: www.hoophall.com

Related Information: