Faculty Awards Presented at Holy Cross

The annual Fall Convocation was held at Holy Cross on Tuesday, Sept. 26. The event honored the recipient of the 2000 Holy Cross Distinguished Teaching Award and the recipients of the Rev. Raymond J. Swords, S.J., Faculty Medal.

Professor William Green of the history department was this year’s distinguished teacher. A member of the Holy Cross faculty since 1964, he has served on numerous committees, the most important being the Educational Policy Committee and the Committee on Tenure and Promotion. Green has twice served as the chair of the history department and was the director of the College Honors Program for four years.

For the past 10 years, Green has been the College’s coordinator for the Clark-Holy Cross May Term in Luxembourg program. He is also responsible for launching the study of environmental history and initiating an institution-wide program in environmental studies. Green’s fields of interest include modern Britain and the British Empire, European world empires since 1500, and environmental history.

The Distinguished Teaching Award was established to recognize the dedicated faculty members at the College and carries with it a $1,000 honorarium.

The Rev. Raymond J. Swords, S.J., Faculty Medal, named after the twenty-eighth president of the College, was designed to honor members of the faculty who have served at Holy Cross for twenty-five years. Three members of the Holy Cross faculty were recognized:

Rev. Lionel Honoré, S.J., of the French department,Victoria Swigert, assistant dean of the class of 2004 and professor in the sociology department,and Charles Weiss, director of grants, foundation and corporate giving and professor in the psychology department.