Faculty Awards Presented at Holy Cross

WORCESTER, Mass. – The third annual Presidential Convocation was held at Holy Cross on September 15, 1998.  The event honored the winner of the 1997-98 Holy Cross Distinguished Teaching Award and the recipients of the Raymond J. Swords, S.J., Faculty Medal.

Professor Helen Whall of the English department was this year's distinguished teacher.  A member of the Holy Cross faculty since 1976, she has served on numerous committees and worked with many student groups.  Whall is a past director of the College's Honors Program and is currently the director of the First-Year Program.

The award was established to recognize the dedicated faculty members at the College and carries with it a $1,000 honorarium.

The Raymond J. Swords, S.J., Faculty Medal, named after the twenty-eighth president of the College, was designed to honor members of the faculty who have served at Holy Cross for twenty-five years.  Three members of the Holy Cross faculty were recognized: Caren Dubnoff of the political science department, Theresa McBride of the history department, and John Reboli, S.J., of the visual arts department.