31 Holy Cross Students Inducted Into Jesuit Honor Society

Alpha Sigma Nu acceptance is granted to less than four percent of the class

Thirty-one Holy Cross students were inducted into Alpha Sigma Nu,  the Jesuit honor society founded in 1915, at a virtual ceremony held recently. The new inductees exemplify the society’s values of excellence in scholarship, loyalty and service. 

Selection to Alpha Sigma Nu is one of the highest honors that can be given on a Jesuit campus. Candidates for membership are selected from the top 15 percent of their class, and from this group membership will be awarded to only four percent.

Alpha Sigma Nu, the only honor society permitted to bear the Jesuit name, encourages its members to a lifetime pursuit of intellectual development, deepening Ignatian spirituality, service to others and a commitment to the core principles of Jesuit education. 

Inductees include:

  • Gabrielle Beaulieu '21: North Andover, Mass., psychology major, neuroscience minor
  • Grace Burke '21: Westwood, Mass., political science major
  • Margaret Burns '21: Southport, Conn., history and Russian major
  • Ting Cheng '21: Guangzhou, China, accounting and mathematics major
  • Carolyn Cody '21: Lakeville, Mass., political science major
  • Paige Cohen '21: Atlanta, Ga., political science and English major
  • Emma Davison '21: West Caldwell, N.J., political science and Middle Eastern studies major
  • Emily DeMaso '21: Fairfield, Conn., biology major
  • Lauren Dentinger '21: Latham, N.Y., biology major, environmental studies minor
  • Grace Doern '21: Larchmont, N.Y., economics
  • Ajah Eills '21: Concord, N.H., biology major, creative writing minor
  • Matthew Elacqua '21: Utica, N.Y., computer science major
  • Joseph Ertle '21: Cleveland, Ohio, English
  • Emma Flanagan '21: Braintree, Mass., neuroscience major, French minor
  • Caroline Fredericks '21: Buffalo, N.Y., history major, philosophy minor
  • Luke Giuntoli '21: Walnut Creek, Calif., classics major, Italian minor
  • Elizabeth Goodman '21: Manchester, N.H., theatre major, gender, sexuality, and women’s studies concentration 
  • Elizabeth Griffin '21: Cohasset, Mass., history and music major
  • William Grimes '21: Tucson, Ariz., economics 
  • Bailey Holman '21: Arlington, Mass., political science major, religious studies minor
  • Clare Honan '21: Milwaukee, Wis., political science major,  gender, sexuality, and women’s studies and peace and conflict studies concentrations
  • Kyle Irvine '21: Waltham, Mass., economics and music major
  • Jordana Irzyk '21: Wallingford, Conn., history major, French minor, peace and conflict studies concentration
  • Nanrawee Kitiarsa '21: Singapore, political science and Asian Studies major
  • Andrew Ludwig '21: Waltham, Mass., biology
  • Michael McGrath '21: Riverside, Conn., physics 
  • Meghan O’Keefe '21: Westborough, Mass., psychology and music major
  • Connor Pijanowski '21: Pembroke, Mass., mathematics and economics major
  • Valerie Shay '21: Londonderry, N.H., chemistry
  • Bridget Whelpley '21: Vienna, Va., biology major, rhetoric and composition minor
  • Caylie Whiteside '21: East Berlin, Conn., psychology major, self-designed, interdisciplinary ethics minor

Also at the virtual ceremony, it was announced that the following students will serve as the executive board officers: Emma Davison '21, president; Paige Cohen '21, vice president; Meghan O’Keefe '21, secretary; Joseph Ertle '21, treasurer.

In addition to student inductees, two members of the College community were inducted as honorary members: Daniel Klinghard, professor of political science, and Jessica Waldoff, professor of music.