Holy Cross Board of Trustees to Continue Search for New President

WORCESTER, Mass. – The presidential search committee at the College of the Holy Cross will continue its search for a new Jesuit president.  H.E. Lentz '67, chairman of the College's Board of Trustees, made the announcement today following a special meeting of the Trustees.

The search committee was appointed following the resignation of former president Rev. Gerard Reedy, S.J., in July 1998.  Frank Vellaccio, Ph.D. has served as acting president since that time and will continue in the position until a new president is named.

"I am grateful to the committee chair, Kevin Condron, and the members of the search committee for their hard work and dedication to this important process," says Lentz.  "We will continue our efforts to identify the best Jesuit to lead Holy Cross into the next century."

The members of the search committee are: Condron '67, chair; Professor John B. Anderson '57; Rev. John E. Brooks, S.J. '49; Constance A. Eagan '81; John P. Hamill '61; Lentz; Charles E.F. Millard '54; and Professor Joanne Pierce.