Alternate College Theatre Presents the Musical Update of 'Little Shop of Horrors'

The College of the Holy Cross’ student run Alternate College Theatre (ACT) will present “Little Shop of Horrors,” with music by Alan Menken, with book and lyrics by Howard Ashman and directed by alumna Julia McCarthy ’15, who previously staged the 2015 ACT production of “The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee.” The performances will be held in Fenwick Theatre, located on the second floor of O’Kane Hall, on Feb. 2–4 at 8 p.m.; Feb. 4–5 at 2 p.m. Tickets are $10 for members of the Holy Cross community and $15 for the general public, and can be reserved by calling the box office at 508-793-3536.

“Little Shop of Horrors” is the musical update of the Faust story about a scholar who makes a pact with the devil in order to gain unlimited knowledge and worldly pleasures. The production follows a nerd who works in a Skid Row flower shop as he bargains with the devil in the form of a cannibalistic talking plant named Audrey II that promises him financial and romantic success; all the plant asks in return is the occasional fresh corpse.

“It is such a rewarding experience to be welcomed back to direct ‘Little Shop of Horrors.’ What is nice about this time around, in comparison to when I directed the musical as a senior, is that I have a bit more experience and confidence in my work now,” explains McCarthy, who majored in English and theatre. “Graduating and being in the real world offers a new perspective to everything I've learned from my theatre professors at Holy Cross. I'm very proud of my cast and crew for all of their hard work and creativity—they inspired me time and time again throughout this entire process.”

The production’s main cast includes: Alec Davis ’17, Mingjie Diao ’19, James Falconer ’19, Benjamin Fitzgerald '18, Diana Hurtado ’17, Derek Kunz ’17, Chris Little ’17, Anastasia Nedoroscik ’20, Marygrace Pier ’20, Lillian Piz ’19, Megan Siebecker ’20, Lauren Simeon ’19, Dan Taylor ’19 and Alyssa White ’18. The production’s dance ensemble includes: Elizabeth Canedo ’19, Katrina Black ’18, Carly O’Brien ’17 and Lauren Simeon ’19.

Related Information