34 Holy Cross Students Inducted Into Jesuit Honor Society

2022 Alpha Sigma Nu student honorees. Photo by Louie Despres

The honor is bestowed on fewer than 4% of a class.


In October, 34 members of the College of the Holy Cross class of 2023 were inducted into Alpha Sigma Nu, the Jesuit honor society. 

Selection is one of the highest honors that can be earned on a Jesuit campus. Candidates for membership are selected from the top 15% of their class, and from this group membership is awarded to only 4%.

In addition to the student inductees, two members of the College community were inducted as honorary members: Thomas Martin, Jeremiah W. O'Connor Jr. Chair in Classics, and Tsitsi Masvawure, professor of practice in health studies and health studies program, and advisor and coordinator for the Center for Interdisciplinary Studies.

Alpha Sigma Nu encourages members to a lifetime pursuit of intellectual development, deepening Ignatian spirituality, service to others and a commitment to the core principles of Jesuit education. 

Inductees include:

  • Kevin Akalski: West Baylon, New York, philosophy and political science double major
  • Lucia Ardizzone: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, Spanish major and environmental studies minor 
  • Sarah Ayers: Lewisburg, Pennsylvania, history major and education minor
  • Chloe Bertocci: Winchester, Massachusetts, psychology major and deaf studies minor
  • McKenna Best: N Eden, Utah, economics and political science double major
  • Shelley Blumsack: Winchester, Massachusetts, mathematics major
  • Goniola Bode: Worcester, Massachusetts, biology major
  • Emily Bouzan: Plympton, Massachusetts, biology major 
  • Sara Cahill: Hopkinton, Massachusetts, biology major with a concentration in biochemistry
  • Emily Clemens: Larchmont, New York, sociology and religious studies double major
  • Charles Doern: Larchmont, New York, computer science major
  • Isabella Giaquinta: Manhattan Beach, California, mathematics and health studies double major and statistics minor
  • Margaret Hannick: St. Louis, Missouri, health studies and Mandarin Chinese double major
  • Anastasia Kaliabakos: Astoria, New York, classics and philosophy double major 
  • Sloane Larsen: Rumford, Rhode Island, English and French double major with a concentration in creative writing
  • Megan Lorenz: Utica, New York, mathematics and health studies double major and statistics minor
  • Kathleen McCarthy: Delmar, New York, political science major and environmental studies and rhetoric and composition minor
  • Christopher McCormick: Richmond, Virginia, religious studies major 
  • Caitlin McCutcheon: Gorham, Maine, biology major with a biochemistry concentration
  • Colleen McIlvenna: Cincinnati, Ohio, accounting major
  • Paige Moffat: Middlebury, Connecticut international studies major and Chinese minor with a concentration in peace and conflict studies
  • Brendan Murphy: Needham, Massachusetts, history major and philosophy minor
  • Margaret O'Leary: Waterbury, Connecticut, environmental studies and international studies double major
  • Meghan Ourand: Washington, D.C., economics major
  • Sagar Patel: Des Plaines, Illinois, history and biology double major and a neuroscience minor
  • Emily Primavera: North Haledon, New Jersey, psychology major with a philosophy minor with a concentration in gender, sexuality and women’s studies 
  • Monica Regan: Medfield, Massachusetts, political science major and a statistics minor with a concentration in peace and conflict studies
  • Ashley Rodriguez Lantigua: Providence, Rhode Island, self-designed Latin American, Latinx, and Caribbean studies, and Spanish double major, with a minor in education
  • Angela Rusha: Worcester, Massachusetts, English and political science double major
  • Kathleen Segal: Wellesley, Massachusetts, chemistry major with a concentration in peace and conflict studies
  • Colleen Shortell: Pearl River, New York, international studies and sociology double major
  • Elianna Tuite: Tampa, Florida, political science major with a concentration in peace and conflict studies
  • Morgan Vacca: Canton, Connecticut, accounting major
  • Mary Whitney: Aptos, California, classics major 

Clemens will serve as president, Larsen as vice president, Regan as secretary and Vacca as treasurer.