28 Holy Cross Students Inducted into Jesuit Honor Society

Society celebrates 100 years

Alpha Sigma Nu, the Jesuit honor society founded in 1915, inducted 28 Holy Cross students on Oct. 25. The new inductees exemplify the Society’s values of excellence in scholarship, loyalty and service. Membership is only awarded to 4 percent of student applicants chosen from Jesuit institutions of higher learning who rank in the top 15 percent of their class.

Inductees include:

  • Linnea C. Brandt: Pittsford, N.Y., religious studies and sociology major
  • Emily R. Conn: Melrose, Mass., English major
  • Brian J. Dougherty: Huntington, N.Y., chemistry major
  • Emily C. Dyer: Fairfield, Conn., English major
  • Lauren E. Gerberich: Wilbraham, Mass., economics-accounting major
  • Patricia A. Gianfagna: Snyder, N.Y., psychology major
  • Jack M. Green: Northbridge, Mass., political science major, peace and conflict studies concentration
  • Anna M. Gubala: Maynard, Mass., biology major, self-designed Catholic studies minor
  • Derek C. Keough: Pembroke, Mass., mathematics and environmental studies major
  • Alexander D. Khan: Brooklyn, N.Y., economics-accounting major
  • Stefania S. Khoda: Georgetown, Mass., psychology major, biological psychology concentration
  • Joseph L. MacNeill: Newington, Conn., classics and self-designed Catholic studies major
  • Kelly Ann M. McCarthy: Sandy Hook, Conn., mathematics major
  • Anna C. McGeady: Duxbury, Mass., English major
  • Meghan C. McGowan: Yorktown Heights, N.Y., chemistry major
  • Jacob W. Medina: Avon, Conn., economics major, peace and conflict studies concentration
  • Steven A. Merola: Cheshire, Conn., classics major, Teacher Education Program
  • Gabriella E. Motta: Cranston, R.I., biology major
  • Joseph P. Murphy: Hasbrouck Heights, N.J., political science major, peace and conflict studies concentration
  • Kira L. Niederhoffer: Weston, Conn., chemistry major, biochemistry concentration
  • Lauren J. Roberts: Holden, Mass., English major, Italian minor
  • Robert C. Santariello: Scarsdale, N.Y., economics and Spanish major
  • Alexander R. Simrell: Scranton, Pa., classics major, Teacher Education Program
  • Amanda M. Snow: Plantsville, Conn., biology major, biological psychology concentration
  • Rachael A. Studley: Lakeville, Mass., biology major
  • Joseph G. Wihbey: Litchfield, Conn., physics major, 3-2 engineering program
  • Anthony E. Yakely: Hillsborough, N.J., chemistry major, biochemistry concentration
  • Michelle A. Zimmerman: Tolland, Conn., mathematics major

Amanda Snow ’16 was elected president of the society, Joseph Murphy ’16 as vice president, Kira Niederhoffer ’16 as secretary, and Alexander Khan ’16 as treasurer.

In addition to student inductees, two members of the College community were inducted as honorary members: Francisco Gago-Jover, professor of Spanish and 2016 class dean, and John Panteleimon-Manoussakis, associate professor of philosophy.